top of page
Rechercher
  • Alexis De La Fuente

Review : Larry Lock by Mago Larry


Product description: I’m a big sucker for gimmicked lock, I buy nearly all of them! I find the object appealing and the mechanism inside is also something which interest me a lot. I first saw the Larry Lock at Blackpool 2 or 3 years ago and Larry fooled me so badly with it. I now had the chance to own it and it’s as good as it looks and allow you to perform this in any way you want. The basic idea is that the spectator is telling you a 4 digits code, which will open the lock. He can try another combinaison and it won’t open the lock, and then try the first one he gave and then, it opens! Let’s find out if it’s that good.

Price and where to buy it: This is sold at $120 and you can find it here : www.magicdream.fr

What you get: You get a cardboard box which is not that stiff so it will bend and tear easily but it’s not that important. Inside, you’ll find a link for the explanation video made by Larry, both in English and Spanish. They’re quite clear with several handlings and way to perform (close-up, stage and so on). And you get the lock of course which is very interesting because of how it works. It works very well and once you learn the secret, you can begin to imagine how you’ll be performing it. Overall, it’s not that cheap but the prop is very well made and should last a long time if you take care of it. I’m really happy with my purchase.

The pros and the cons: Here is the core of my review, let's begin with the cons, as I will usually be doing, I prefer to keep the good things for the end.

THE CONS:

  • The lock can’t be tested after the routine, but with proper management, your audience won’t want to look at it.

  • There is not a single way to perform so you have to adapt your routine depending on the outcomes which can be bad for some performer who like stability.

THE PROS:

  • The last con is also a pro in my opinion, magic is all about improvising and this lock is perfect for that. Every outcome is covered but the path of the routine might not be the same each time you perform. I find this very exciting!

  • The lock is beautifully made and works a treat, I don’t know how lock work but I believe this is a pain in the a** to gimmick.

  • It’s not a card trick, or a coin trick and the first combinaison they give is the one that will open the lock. They can try other combinaison which won’t open it.

  • You can perform this on stage or in close-up situation which is good because you can really perform it the way you want, where you want.

  • The magician never touches the lock, which is a strong selling point in my opinion.

Overall rating: I like this very much, it fooled me and I wasn’t disappointed with the method, it’s not cheap but will definitely be something I perform, 4/4 hearts.

As for the difficulty level, since you’re not touching the lock, there is 0 move but the difficulty here is to manage the audience so that they do what you want, 3/5 stars.

Similar products: Dead Lock is another option, Dream lock too but they rely on another principle.

81 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page