top of page
Rechercher
  • Alexis De La Fuente

Review : In Plain Sight by Matt Johnson


Product description: Magic Square is a very famous plot in magic, well, it’s mathematical idea but it has been taken by magicians and they have turned it into a magic routine. The idea is simple, somebody is writing a number between 1 and 100 down on a piece of paper, you then draw a 4 by 4 board and you fill it in with numbers. When you add the 4 numbers of the first row, it gives the number chosen by the spectator ! But it’s the same with the second row, the third and the last one ! It also works with the columns, the diagonales etc.. It has been released by many magicians but is Matt Johnson’s version is good ? Let’s find out !

Price and where to buy it: This is sold at $24.95 and you can find it in nearly every Murphy's magic partner !

What you get: You get a cardboard box, very nice packaging, with inside a clear plastic box, in order for you to carry your business cards, and it also acts as a tool in one of the routine. You get 20 to 30 gimmicks, which can be put literally anywhere and will work in any language ! They’re very well made and should last a long time so I don’t see anyone running out of gimmicks. You also get a link to watch a 1 hour explanation video which is really well made with live performances. Matt is a very good teacher and I think this is the perfect source for you to learn the magic square. But if you already do a magic square routine, this won’t be helpful.

The pros and the cons: Here is the core of my review, let's begin with the cons, as I will usually be doing, I prefer to keep the good things for the end.

THE CONS:

  • I wish they had included EVERYTHING we need to remember on the gimmick, you still have a little bit of memorization to do.

  • Most numbers on the square will be the same so I don’t recommend you to do it twice to the same people.

  • This is not for people who already have a magic square routine.

THE PROS:

  • Matt is a true pedagogue, I really liked learning the magic square from him. His routine is interesting because people don’t give you their number, so it reinforces the magic square.

  • The gimmick does most of the work for you, you have very minimal things to remember and to do. If I can do it, you can too !

  • The gimmick can be put anywhere, from the smallest objects to the big whiteboard you’re using on stage. This is a strength of the routine too, it can play close-up as well as on stage.

  • I think the most boring thing in a magic square is having to remember all the numbers, I can see myself having the “In Plain Sight” gimmicks all around on every object in my close up case.

  • I always have a sharpie with me so now I will always be ready to perform the magic square.

Overall rating: This is a very good release, which is for me a very good thing if you want to learn the magic square along with gimmicks which can help you, I can see myself using this, a lot ! 4/4 hearts.

As for the difficulty level, as I said, the gimmick does most of the job for you, 2/5 stars.

Similar products: Tenyo has released a Magic Square routine, Luis de Matos too but I haven’t seen them so I can’t tell what I think about it.

137 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page