top of page
Rechercher
  • Alexis De La Fuente

Review : No Box by Gee Magic


Product description : Card to impossible location is a common plot in magic and seems to be a holy grail for creator because they all want to invent their own version (including me !) so it’s not a strange thing that after all the boxes coming out lately, a magician would create something which doesn’t require any box. The idea is fairly simple, you place two folded cards down on the table, one red and one blue. You ask someone to think of a card they see and to another spectator to select and sign a card. When you unfold the blue card, it’s the thought one and they unfold the red one which is the signed one ! It’s an interesting idea but is it worth the asked price ? Let’s find out !

Price and where to buy it : This is sold at $59.95 and you can find it in nearly every Murphy's magic partner !

What you get : The box you get is really cool, it’s a small red hard cardboard one, the packaging is quite nice and inside, you’ll find the link to a page in order to watch the explanation. The thing that bothered me is that there are 10 to 15 unlisted Youtube videos on this page, so it’s quite painful to launch each video, one after the other, I would have prefered a single video. But the explanations are well made and you get to learn the basic principles as well with some variations and routines possible with the gimmick. You also receive the gimmick which is well made, out of Bicycle stock. The only downside for me is the price, this is way too highly priced for what it is. I understand that you pay the idea but for the gimmick you receive, this could have easily been priced at $30 to $35 and not the $60 asked. Other than that, I think this is a good release.

The pros and the cons : Here is the core of my review, let's begin with the cons, as I will usually be doing, I prefer to keep the good things for the end.

THE CONS :

  • As I said, the price is way too high for what you receive, and I think it’s really a bad point because other than that, this is a good release but people will be disappointed to pay $60 for that. When they would have been very happy to pay $35, I really think the price is too high.

  • The gimmick is not perfect so there is one side of it, when closed, which still shows up a bit of red card when it should only be blue. Nothing dramatic but still, for that price, I would expect a perfect gimmick.

THE PROS :

  • No box are involved in the routine as said in the name of the trick. I don’t know if this is a strong point or not but it does have the merit of being self contained, you don’t have anything else than this gimmicked card on you.

  • You get the gimmick fully made ready to go, which is a very nice point, no art and craft are required, you can perform it right out of the box.

  • The gimmick is very clever in its construction because it allows you to perform the effect and immediately handing out both cards for examination, no need to switch anything, the cards can be inspected.

  • The retention of vision during the move is very cool and I can see it working pretty well, I don’t think any spectator would point out that something happened.

  • You can do other things than just a card to impossible location with this gimmick, you can do a transposition for example but I’m sure you will come up with your own routines.

Overall rating : This isn’t a bad trick at all, it’s pretty good but I don’t understand why they priced it that high, I don’t think it’s worth $60 but more $35. Other than that, I do believe you will be happy with what you get, 3/4 hearts

As for the difficulty level, you have to do a mercury card fold at some point so I advise you to learn it, as well as a decent force, 3/5 stars.

Similar products : There is plenty of products which can achieve the same thing but the closest one would be The One 2.0 by Anthony Stan or The Switch by Shin Lim.

132 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page