top of page
Rechercher
  • Alexis De La Fuente

Review : Leap by Agus Tjiu


Product description : I will be fair with you, Agus Tjiu is a friend of mine, I knew him thanks to his first release which was Cross, an amazing gimmick. I’ve followed him and his creations along the past few years and I can say, without any doubt, that this is his best trick to date ! Leap is a coin through glass, the idea is simple, you borrow a coin, place a little shot glass on the card case, place a bigger glass upside down to cover it. Take the coin and simply push it through the glass, the coin will directly land into the shot glass ! The visuals on this are insane, I can tell you won’t believe your eyes the first time you will be doing this. Yes it’s expensive but you won’t be disappointed with it, I can assure you !

Price and where to buy it : This is sold at $69.95 and you can find it in nearly every Murphy's magic « partner » shop !

What you get : I must tell you that the packaging on this is one of the best I’ve ever seen for a trick priced this low ! You get like a wooden box which has been specially cut and designed with laser, the name of the trick is engraved on the front, with a deep blue color, I was really impressed when I received it. I know you don’t use or need a good packaging but still, it shows how much creator believes in his creation and show respect to people who buy his trick. Inside the box, you’ll find the explanations which are written ones, along with several pictures. They’re not the best I’ve seen but they do the job, I’ll come back to this in the cons. You also get the shot glass, which is a very cool attention from Agus, so you can perform this right away. You also get the main gimmick, already built into a red bicycle card case, it has been made with 3D printing I think or something in plastic. It should last a really long time, it’s well made. Along with those, you get a blue bicycle box so you can change if you want the gimmick to be in a blue box. I think the gimmick is one of the best one I’ve ever seen, it’s well made and works as a dream, you’ll fool yourself.

The pros and the cons : Here is the core of my review, let's begin with the cons, as I will usually be doing, I prefer to keep the good things for the end.

THE CONS :

[if !supportLists]– [endif]The explanations could have been made better, even a small video would have helped me when I was trying to set up the gimmick. It’s not hard but I think a video would have been better than a single piece of paper.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]You have to put your shot glass onto the card case, which can’t be used to store cards. I don’t think it’s a problem, cards are something every magician carry so there is no problem about that but you have to have this case in order to do this effect. But I can understand that some people may find weird the fact of putting the shot glass on a deck of cards rather than on the table.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]They say you can use a ring, I wouldn’t personally, I think the ring could get damaged during the routine. And the gimmick will not accept every ring, it has to be a very thin one.

THE PROS :

[if !supportLists]– [endif]Agus Tjiu is a magical engineer, his creations are all well made and this one tops all of the other. If James Bond has a gadget to make a coin go through a glass, it couldn’t be cooler than Leap.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]The visuals are very good ! There is nothing to see, and you’ll fool yourself doing this in front of the mirror over and over again, this is a kind of trick you don’t want to stop doing, even for yourself.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]If you think a little bit, there are many ways of doing the “dirty work” before pushing the coin through the glass, whether it’s a scotch and soda, a shell or even a simple French drop, there are many ways you could perform this.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]You can also load a signed coin inside the gimmick during the performance, whether it’s done openly in front of the spectators (yes, you can) or in your pocket. I think having it signed adds a little bit to the effect, you can then go into a coin bending routine right after !

[if !supportLists]– [endif]The gimmick can be transferred to any card case, so it can fit the brand you use the most and you won’t have to bring a different card case just for this effect.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]They did an amazing work on the packaging, seriously, it’s one of the best I’ve seen.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]If you take care of it, the gimmick should last a long time, since it’s made out of plastic, you shouldn’t worry about any deterioration.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]They have included a shot glass, any one will work but they went to the trouble of providing you with one so you can start performing the effect right after receiving it !

Overall rating : It’s an amazing routine, very visual and very easy to do, I don’t think you can be disappointed with it, you just have to know whether you will carry an extra card case just for this effect, I think I will, 4/4 hearts.

As for the difficulty level, the “dirty work” is the hardest part, making the coin go through the glass is just a matter of pushing on it, which could be done by the spectator, I would say 2/5 stars.

Similar products : There was a huge tray which was doing the same effect but it was more for stage magic, Leap is a perfect close up miracle !

279 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page