top of page
Rechercher
  • Alexis De La Fuente

Review : Devour by Sansminds


Product description : I don’t want to talk about Sansminds release a lot because often, they’re just completely rubbish, with fake teasers and gimmicks which don’t work. I love their Vapr watch, but even with it, I had some problems. Let’s talk about Devour, their latest effect. A card a selected, lost in the pack, which is put inside the box. You draw a face on the card box which turns angry when you snap your fingers. When you open it, all the card are torn except the selected one. Is it one of the rare and good release from Sansminds ? Let’s find out.

Price and where to buy it : This is sold at $29.95 and you can find it in nearly every Murphy's magic « partner » shop !

What you get : You get a very thing DVD case, don’t expect any already gimmick. Inside, you’ll find the DVD, well shot as usual from Sansminds which teaches everything you need to know and the HUGE Art and Craft moment. Let me explain, I make a lot of gimmicks, flaps and so on so I’m used to that but here, you need a lot of time and a lot of boxes (4 in total !) in order to make the gimmick. They supply you with a little bit of stuff to make it but still, you have to provide most of it. For the price asked, I would have expected a lot more, I’m really disappointed with it, the gimmick is hard and long to make, not deceptive enough and the price is quite high.

The pros and the cons : Here is the core of my review, let's begin with the cons, as I will usually be doing, I prefer to keep the good things for the end.

THE CONS :

[if !supportLists]– [endif]4 card box are needed in order to make the gimmick(s) ! And you’ll need some time and patience to make it well.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]You can tell on the trailer, the gimmick is not well made, it flashes everywhere. Even they couldn’t make it well !

[if !supportLists]– [endif]This will take a lot of space in your pocket, just for one trick, I don’t think the ratio space/effectiveness of the trick is high enough for this to be good.

THE PROS :

[if !supportLists]– [endif]It’s visual, even if the gimmick is not the best I’ve seen, I must agree the moment the face turns angry is quite cool.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]It’s a nice little story, which makes sense to the people, not just a “pick a card, there it is !” kind of trick.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]It’s easy to do, it will require some kind of switch but it’s well hidden by the fact the spectator will sign the card.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]You can customize the gimmick with any face you want, if you want to draw anything else, a bomb, anything, you can !

[if !supportLists]– [endif]It’s something different and the end with all the torn cards is a nice little moment.

Overall rating : I think that Sansminds has fallen into their old demon, this is not so good, the Art & Craft is too heavy and isn’t worth your time and money, 2/4 hearts.

As for the difficulty level, the routine is pretty simple to do but the gimmick will require patience and time to make it, I would say 2/5 stars.

Similar products : I don’t know anything which is similar, so I couldn’t help you with that.

80 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page