top of page
Rechercher
  • Alexis De La Fuente

Review : Switch-A-Lope by Arnaud Van Rietschoten


Product description: I’ve always been a huge fan of envelopes, especially gimmicked ones because there is something to a gaff envelope I can’t really explain. Switch-A-Lope is a fully gimmicked envelope which contains one envelope inside will allow you to produce 4 outs. it’s clever, it’s big, it’s designed for stage work only, I can’t see myself using this in close-up. The smallest envelope is made out of a very bright colored paper while the big one is made out of white cardboard. Is this something which is worth your time and money ? Let’s find out !

Price and where to buy it: This is sold at $59.95 and you can find it in nearly every Murphy's magic partner !

What you get: You get a very nice packaging which is a rigid cardboard sleeve for the enveloppe, so inside you’ll find the big envelope with inside the small envelope as well as all the gaffs needed for you to perform the effect. You need to provide 4 A4 sheet and write anything you want to reveal on them. The gimmicked envelope is really really well made, it works flawlessly and I really like the method behind it. You also get a link in order to watch an explanatory video online, it’s well made but I really hate the background music, it’s so annoying ! Anyway, you learn how to use the envelope, which kind of paper you need to provide in case you want to change the small envelope (for a different colored one for example) and also which kind of “gaff” is used so really, it’s an exhaustive video. Overall, if you like what you see in the trailer, that you want a 4 outs envelopes for stage, I don’t think you will be disappointed by Switch-A-Lope, especially for the price.

The pros and the cons: Here is the core of my review, let's begin with the cons, as I will usually be doing, I prefer to keep the good things for the end.

THE CONS:

  • This is angle sensitive, and it’s why it should be used on stage. I think 150 to 160 degrees is the most you can get out of it.

  • You can’t hand out the envelope, they can “look” inside to check it’s empty but not too much because they may find something.

THE PROS:

  • As I said, it’s really well made, the quality of the gimmick is outstanding.

  • You get everything ready to go out of the box, nothing to cut, glue or fold, you can start performing immediately with this prop.

  • I like how big it plays, the colored envelope can be seen from really far away so it’s perfect for stage and I think you will come up with your own routines to use with it.

  • The predictions are made on A4 paper so they can also be seen in big rooms.

  • The handling, when you master it, is quite clean and I think it will fly by people because the envelope never leave their sight.

Overall rating: I like this a lot, I think it may be one of the cleanest and strongest 4 ways out envelope for stage work ! Unfortunately, as a close-up worker, I won’t be using it, 3/4 hearts.

As for the difficulty level, 25% of the time, it will be really clean, the other 75%, you need to practice the move but it’s not really difficult, 2/5 stars.

Similar products: I’m using a Paul Romany envelope, which is also 4 ways out but designed for close-up work.

86 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page