top of page
Rechercher
  • Alexis De La Fuente

Review : Holely Change by Sandminds Creative Lab


Product description : As I said in my Vanishing Sharpie review : “To be fair, I don’t like Sansminds, I don’t like their marketing approach, I don’t like the fact they lie on trailers, I don’t like many of their tricks. However, they have something called the “Worker Series” which has many good products, which can really be performed in the real life, not just on video.” Holely Change is a very visual routine, you show a red deck, let your audience pick a card, you introduce 2 double white cards with a big hole in them. You put the selected card in between them, and by simply pushing it, you change the colour of the back.

Price and where to buy it : This is sold at $29.99 and you can find it in nearly every Murphy's magic « partner » shop !

What you get : You get a thin DVD case with a DVD inside, which is very cool in those downloads day, I find it cool to be able to have a physical product rather than a digital one. The DVD is well shot, as with most Sansminds products, they teach you the main routine. You also get the gimmicked cards, I like what they’ve done with them, there is nothing to break, nothing to repair, it’s a mechanical gimmick. They’re well-made and I can see them lasting a long time. Overall, pretty happy with what I received, the demo video is accurate but there is one thing that bother me, which I will get into in the cons.

The pros and the cons : Here is the core of my review, let's begin with the cons, as I will usually be doing, I prefer to keep the good things for the end.

THE CONS :

[if !supportLists]– [endif]The DVD cover shows a picture of the change in action and this is impossible to achieve ! They did things correctly, they didn’t lie on the trailer, the gimmick is good, but they had to put this fake picture on the DVD cover..

[if !supportLists]– [endif]You may need to “refresh” your gimmick from time to time in order for it to work perfectly.

THE PROS :

[if !supportLists]– [endif]It’s one of those rare times that Sansminds put out a product which corresponds to the description. There is nothing hidden in the description or the trailer, which is common with the worker series of Sansminds.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]The trick is really visual, the change is fast and amazing for the audience.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]It’s easy to do, there is no major difficulty during the routine so it’s good for beginners, but that doesn’t mean it’s not good for people who have also skills.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]If you want, you can hand out the white cards at the end after the change, you will have to do a little something but not hard at all.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]The thing I like with this is that you don’t have any gimmick in the deck, if you add a little bit of manipulation to the routine taught in the DVD, you can get rid of the gimmicked card in the deck, which is not necessary in my opinion.

[if !supportLists]– [endif]You can do this surrounded, have your gimmicked cards in your wallet at all time.

Overall rating : It’s not that bad for a Sansminds product, it works well, it’s easy to do, not my kind of magic, I wouldn’t carry the cards but I can see some magician doing it, 3/4 hearts.

As for the difficulty level, the routine provided is pretty much self-working, I would say 2/5 stars.

Similar products : If you want to change the colour of the back of a card, you could check the Wow 2.0 or Porthole by myself.

117 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page